A Year in Trees – Bill Hayes

gif by Rebecca Mock

A thoughtful essay about life in NYC, and our friendships with neighborhood trees.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/07/opinion/sunday/a-year-in-trees.html?smid=pl-share

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A Year in Trees – Bill Hayes”

  1. Jon Rinehart Says:

    Bill,
    I live in rural Wisconsin and 20 years ago started planting 5000 seedlings with my shovel every April until my gym-honed body would scream for a respite. Now, I don’t see as much of society since our trees grew; filtering out cold winds, hot sun and man-made scourges such as noise, dust and smoke. My children are now moved out of the home to colleges and beyond. But this year, I use the chainsaw sparingly pruning and thinning my only “children” still growing at home–my trees. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

